Ugh. Whatever.
That blog was going to be about how different the two kids are so I guess I will just pick it up and try again.
So. Kids are different. Lol... it kinda seems that when you have a kid, the next one is going to be the same because it's a baby, how different can they really be? Well, actually really different. I have made the joke of Copy, Paste because Finn and Lucy look a lot alike but they are literally night and day.
Finn has always been on the move. AL. WAYS. I mean, he was walking at 9 months. Lucy is 7 1/2 months and can barely crawl! She just learned how to sit up on her own last week and has been practicing that... which is great, but babies like to practice at night when they should be sleeping through the night 😉 But, there is totally nothing wrong with that and to be honest, I am glad to be able to enjoy the baby stage for a while longer. We barely got to enjoy any infancy with Finn. He wouldn't even want to be swaddled, let alone even cuddled or snuggled as he got older -- just wanted to explore. Lucy, on the other hand, gives little hugs and it is so stinkin' cute. The nice thing about Finn being first though, holy crap would we have been in for a rude awakening if Lucy was our calm little first child and then WABAM! Action-packed Finnegan arrives! So thanks, Finn, for paving the way! I am sure this will not be the only time Lucy thanks you for being the first!
![]() |
| This picture cracks me up... I wanted to get a picture of her sitting in her crib but the light was too bright! (We have since moved her mattress down...) |
Finn has been able to put all his energy to good use -- climbing the tree in the backyard barefoot, for example, and freaking me the heck out. He is also very athletic and good at pretty much any sport he has tried so far. I know, I know, all mothers say that but really! He can hit a wiffle ball out of the air, make solid contact to a tennis ball with his racquet, make basket after basket in his little hoop, and is super fast and coordinated in soccer. Brett is counting down the days he and Finn can go for runs together. as he approaches 4, he is also able to just sit and work on his legos and now puzzles for long stretches at a time. It was actually really cute this morning, he and Lucy were in the den for close to an hour or so. Finn was working on a puzzle and his cars/legos and Lucy just watched and nibbled on whatever toys were close by. It was super cute.Lucy is just so chill. Like, actually sat with Brett and watched some of my tennis match today. She is good in church, good in the car now (no more screaming trips to Costco! ha!), and loves sitting in her little stroller, taking in the world around her. She is also pretty quiet but has been babbling more recently which is cute. Her first word was "mama" so let's just remember that because now all she says is "dadada" and "blahblahblah". She has also taken to sleeping at night wayyy better than Finn and was interested in food way too early for her to start eating it. She was pumped when she was able to eat "solid" food. And she loves pretty much all of it!
With Finn, I just got excited about him being mobile because it was like, "well, I guess he's not a baby anymore (at 2 months haha) so it will be fun when he can crawl and move around." With Lucy it's like, "aw, isn't snuggling nicely in bed so nice?" I am of course excited for when she can move around and for the ridiculously frilly dresses I want to get her for Easter because toddler girls in ridiculous dresses are the best!The tough part about talking about their differences is comparing what each did "better" or "sooner" or whatever but the truth is, that's all they are, just differences. Our kids cover a variety of behaviors and dispositions but neither one is wrong or better; just different. Sometimes I worry that Lucy is behind because she isn't hoisting herself up on to tables yet or maybe Finn has too much energy but they are both right where they should be. Lucy is not quite as huge as Finn was but she is definitely not a shrimp haha. They are also pretty much the best of friends. Lucy has been looking up to her big brother since day one and Finn loves her so much and is always looking out for her. I hope that lasts!
I have really enjoyed the fact that Finn has gotten in to watching basketball with us. He watched a lot when we started watching the tournament and would cheer or boo when his team scored or missed; it's pretty funny. He's also a hardcore Gonzaga fan and that is pretty awesome. I mean, it's not a surprise, but I am just glad he gets excited about 'Zaga!
And on that note, it is just about time to watch a historical Final Four game! GO ZAGS!






